ifi

Defence of the Master Thesis

Prerequisite to registering for the study-concluding defence of the Master Thesis is the positive completion of all other compulsory and elective modules as well as a positive grade on the Master Thesis.

The Defence of the Master Thesis is a board examination.

  • Complete the Examination Records and submit it to the Examination Office ‘Technik’ – we recommend to do this before you complete your Master’s Thesis in order to avoid any unpleasant surprises.
  • Hand in two hardback copies of your Master’s Thesis at the Examination Office ‘Technik’. Please refer to the “Termine und Fristen” (deadlines) (‘Fristenregelung‘) on the website of the Examination Office! You receive the form for the assessment of the Master’s Thesis from the Examination Office.
  • As soon as the grade appears in lfu:online you receive the form for the registration for the Final Examination from the Examination Office: the Examination Board is selected by the student, in consultation with the lecturer according to these requirements. The student has to arrange a room for the examination (via email to anna-maria.scheiring@uibk.ac.at). The Examination Office will obtain the signature of the Dean of Studies.
  • At least one week prior to the Master Defence you have to send a copy of your Master’s Thesis (hardcopy or digital) to the examiners and to the chair!

The Master Defence will be conducted in English.

Duration of the Master Defence:

  • Presentation of the Master’s Thesis (15 Minutes)
  • Questions regarding the Master’s Thesis and topics closely related to the Master’s Thesis (30 Minutes)

Universität Innsbruck

ifi

Defensio (Verteidigung der Masterarbeit)

Voraussetzungen für die Anmeldung zur studienabschließenden Verteidigung der Masterarbeit (= Pflichtmodul 6 mit 2,5 ECTS) sind der positive Abschluss aller Pflicht- und Wahlmodule sowie die positive Beurteilung der Masterarbeit.

Die Defensio wird in Form einer mündlichen kommissionellen Prüfung vor einem Prüfungssenat abgehalten.

  • Füllen Sie das Prüfungsprotokoll vollständig aus und geben Sie es im Prüfungsreferat Technik ab – am besten noch vor Beendigung der Masterarbeit, damit es keine bösen Überraschungen gibt.
  • Geben Sie zwei gebundene Exemplare der Masterarbeit im Prüfungsreferat Technik ab. Beachten Sie die Termine und Fristen (‘Fristenregelung‘) auf der Webseite des Prüfungsreferats! Sie bekommen vom Prüfungsreferat das Formular zur Beurteilung der Masterarbeit, das Sie dem/der Betreuer/in aushändigen.
  • Wenn die Note im lfu:online eingetragen ist, bekommen Sie vom Prüfungsreferat das Formular zur Anmeldung der kommissionellen Abschlussprüfung: der Prüfungssenat wird vom Studierenden ausgewählt, in Absprache mit dem/der Betreuer/in entsprechend diesen Voraussetzungen. Der Raum wird vom Studierenden organisiert (per E-Mail an anna-maria.scheiring@uibk.ac.at). Die Unterschrift des Universitätsstudienleiters wird vom Prüfungsreferat eingeholt.
  • Mindestens eine Woche vor der Master Defensio müssen Sie jeweils ein Exemplar der Masterarbeit (in elektronischer oder gebundenen Form) an die PrüferInnen und an den Vorsitz übergeben!

Die Master Defensio wird in englischer Sprache durchgeführt.

Dauer der Master Defensio:

  • Präsentation der Masterarbeit (15 Minuten)
  • Fragen über die Masterarbeit und über eng verwandte Themen, die mit der Masterarbeit zusammenhängen (30 Minuten)

Universität Innsbruck