ifi
Duration: 4 Semesters
Degree: Master of Science (MSc)
Prerequisite: finished Bachelor Program or Equivalent

The Master Programme in Computer Science enhances and widens the skills and knowledge in the field of computer science acquired in the Bachelor Study in Computer Science. The Master Programme enables for the ability to independent scientific working, prepares for the PhD Study and enables for the specialisation in a core area or an application area of computer science.

Goals

A sound scientific education in Computer Science and the application of what you have learnt on a concrete problem are of vital importance.

In the Master Programme you will:

  • learn how to individually and successfully develop and apply new methods of Hardware- , Software- or Network Solutions.
  • work on Hardware-, Software, or Network Projects, which require in-depth expert knowledge in a selected core area or area of application.
  • learn how to (after a short introductory phase) lead Hardware-, Software-, or Network Development Projects or (international) teams or departments.
  • attain expert knowledge in several areas of Computer Science and applications thereof.
  • be prepared to commence the Doctoral Program if your performance and interest is above average.

The Master Program will help you to enhance your knowledge and skills acquired during the Bachelor Program. It will enable you to perform scientific work on an autonomous basis and prepares you for the Doctoral Program. It offers the possibility to specialise in a core area or application area of Computer Science.

The following core-competencies will be enhanced in the Master Program:
Abstraction, formalisation and critical examination of a given problem, autonomous analysis of a problem and problem solving. Clear presentation and comprehensive documentation of the developed solution as well as Project Management. Adding to this, you will be trained to evaluate your work from a juridical, ethical and societal perspective.

Admission to the Master Program requires possession of a relevant bachelor degree from an accredited national or foreign institution.

Extent and Content of the Master Program

The Master of Computer Science Program is characterised by the availability of a wide choice of electives. It comprises 120 ECTS credit points. There are 4 compulsory modules totalling 42.5 ECTS credit points and 5 electives totaling 50 ECTS credit points. This equals an average duration of 4 semesters. The master thesis is attributed 27.5 ECTS credit points.

The compulsory modules incorporate the topics Compiler Construction, Formal Language and Automata Theory, two master seminars and the defensio of your master thesis. For the Specialisation Module you can choose courses totaling 20 ECTS credit points, recommended are courses on the subject of Gender aspects.

The topics of the elective modules are wide: Automated Reasoning, Datawarehouse Systems, Enterprise Architecture, Decision Procedures, Vehicular Networks, Compiler Construction, Communication Systems, Software Engineering, Distributed and Parallel Systems, Information Retrieval, Information Security, Interactive Theorem Proving, Machine Learning, Network Security, New Database Models, Semantic Web, Web Engineering.

E-mail-address for questions concerning Computer Science study:
lehre-informatik@uibk.ac.at

Universität Innsbruck

ifi
Studiendauer: 4 Semester
Abschluss: Master of Science (MSc)
Voraussetzung: abgeschlossenes Bachelorstudium oder Äquivalent

Das Masterstudium Informatik vertieft und verbreitert die Fertigkeiten und Kenntnisse auf dem Gebiet der Informatik, die im Bachelorstudium Informatik erworben wurden. Das Masterstudium vermittelt die Fähigkeit zum selbstständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, bereitet auf das Doktoratsstudium vor und ermöglicht die Spezialisierung etwa in einem Kerngebiet oder in einem Anwendungsbereich der Informatik.

Ziele

Eine solide wissenschaftliche Ausbildung in Informatik, sowie auch die Anwendung des Gelernten auf konkrete Problemstellungen sind von besonderer Bedeutung.

Im Masterstudium erlernst du

  • neue Methoden für Hardware-, Software- oder Netzwerklösungen einzusetzen und eigenverantwortlich zu erarbeiten
  • an Hardware-, Software- oder Netzwerkprojekten mitzuarbeiten, die vertieftes Fachwissen in einem ausgewählten Kerngebiet oder Anwendungsgebiet erfordern
  • nach einer Einarbeitungszeit auch größere Hardware-, Software- oder Netzwerk-Entwicklungsprojekte bzw. entsprechende (internationale) Teams und Abteilungen zu leiten
  • ein Expertenwissen in mehreren ausgewählten Bereichen der Informatik bzw. deren Anwendungen zu erlangen,

Das Masterstudium vertieft und erweitert deine Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten, die du im Bachelorstudium Informatik erworben hast. Es vermittelt hierbei insbesondere die Fähigkeit zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, bereitet auch auf das Doktoratsstudium vor und ermöglicht dir die Spezialisierung in einem Kern- oder Anwendungsbereich der Informatik.

Folgende Schlüsselkompetenzen werden im Masterstudium vermittelt oder vertieft:
Abstraktion, Formalisierung und kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der gegebenen Problemstellung; selbstständige Problemanalyse, eigenverantwortliche und kreative Problemlösung; klare Präsentation und saubere Dokumentation der erarbeiteten Lösungen sowie Projektmanagement. Ergänzend wird eine fundierte Einschätzung der eigenen Arbeit unter rechtlichen, ethischen und gesellschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten geschult.

Die Zulassung zum Masterstudium Informatik setzt den Abschluss eines fachlich in Frage kommenden Bachelorabschlusses oder eines anderen gleichwertigen Studiums an einer anerkannten inländischen oder ausländischen Bildungseinrichtung voraus.

Studienumfang

Das Masterstudium Informatik zeichnet sich durch große Wahlmöglichkeiten aus. Es umfasst 120 ECTS-Anrechnungspunkte (ECTS-AP). Es sind sechs Pflichtmodule im Umfang von insgesamt 42.5 ECTS-AP und fünf Wahlmodule im Umfang von insgesamt 50 ECTS-AP zu absolvieren. Das entspricht einer Studiendauer von vier Semestern. Der Masterarbeit werden 27.5 ECTS-AP zu­geordnet.

Die Pflichtmodule umfassen die Themen Compilerbau, Formale Sprachen und Automatentheorie, zwei Masterseminare und die Defensio der Masterarbeit. Im Vertiefungsmodul können Lehrveranstaltungen im Ausmaß von insgesamt 20 ECTS-AP frei gewählt werden, empfohlen wird der Besuch von Lehrveranstaltungen zum Thema Genderaspekte.

Die Themen der Wahlmodule sind sehr umfangreich: Automatisches Beweisen, Datawarehouse Systeme, Enterprise Architecture, Entscheidungsverfahren, Fahrzeugkommunikation, Compilerbau, Kommunikationssysteme, Software Engineering, Verteilte und Parallele Systeme, Information Retrieval, Informationssicherheit, Interaktives Beweisen, Maschinelles Lernen, Netzwerksicherheit, Neuere Datenbankmodelle, Semantic Web, Web Engineering.

E-Mail-Adresse für Fragen rund um das Informatik-Studium:
lehre-informatik@uibk.ac.at

Universität Innsbruck