ifi
clshortlogo Computational Logic

The computational logic group is concerned with the logical foundations of computer science and their application to the analysis and verification of complex systems. Modern engineering applications have reached a level of complexity where humans cannot ensure their correctness or safety. Besides fundamental research in automated reasoning we are developing tools for automatically proving properties of rewrite systems such as termination, confluence, and resource consumption. Verification is another research theme, in which we employ interactive theorem provers to rigorously check the correctness of large computer systems.

Databases and Information Systems

The research Group Databases and Information Systems focuses its research on new NoSQL database models, notably graph-databases, information retrieval and recommender systems as well as genome databases. For the latter, new algorithms (similarity searches in gene-sequences) and processing methods of large data volume are being developed.

dpsLogoTop Distributed and Parallel Systems

As part of the research and teaching activities of the Distributed and Parallel Systems group, program development systems, compiler, runtime systems as well as software tools (e.g. performance tools, debugger) for modern parallel computing systems, high performance computers and cloud infrastructures have been researched and developed enabling optimization of programs towards several parameters like e.g. runtime, energy consumption, resource usage and cost. Our goal is to support users, application developers and scientists in solving complex computation- and data-intensive problems in industry, business and research.

Intelligent and Interactive Systems

The IIS group works with systems that interact with their physical environment in complex ways. Much of their research is driven by requirements of autonomous robots with applications in household, service, and scientific and humanitarian missions. Such robots must act in unstructured environments, sometimes in collaboration with humans. The activity of the IIS group focuses on visual perception and on the inference of adequate action parameters. This interdiscplinary research combines elements of computer vision, machine learning, robotics, neuroscience, psychology, and more.

Interactive Graphics and Simulation

The Interactive Graphics and Simulation group focuses on research in medical simulation and visualization, virtual and augmented reality, as well as haptic interaction. Examples of recent research are data-driven acquisition and rendering of visual and haptic object properties, the extension of the augmented reality paradigm to the haptic domain, as well as new approaches in surgical simulation, including aspects of physical modeling, computational stability, and cutting procedures.

qe_logo_2010_72dpi_rgb Quality Engineering

The Quality Engineering group develops innovative methods and tools to increase quality and efficiency in management, design and operation of software systems. Emphasis is placed on model-based techniques, software processes, requirement management, model-based quality assurance, work flow management and security engineering. The application-oriented research centre Quality Engineering Laura Bassi LaB – QE LaB – develops, together with industry partners, methods and technologies for IT-systems facing cooperation, quality and evolution.

sec_uibk_logo Security and Privacy Lab

Modern information systems mediate the actions of people with many different interests. The Security and Privacy group (Sec) is committed to develop and evaluate technical components for future information infrastructures that facilitate transparent and fair resolution of potential conflicts, or avoids them altogether. Concrete examples include systems that process multilaterally secure payments, detect forgeries in media data, model cyber-risk for insurance companies, or measure privacy properties in cloud computing. A common thread in the group’s scientific work is an interdisciplinary approach to solving exigent problems in IT security and privacy.

Universität Innsbruck

ifi
clshortlogo Computational Logic

Die Forschungsgruppe Computational Logic beschäftigt sich mit den logischen Fundamenten der Informatik und deren Anwendung bei der Analyse und Verifikation komplexer Systeme. Moderne technische Anwendungen haben ein Maß an Komplexität erreicht, die es dem Menschen nicht mehr ermöglicht, die Korrektheit und Sicherheit zu garantieren. Neben Grundlagenforschung im Bereich automatisches Beweisen, entwickeln wir auch Werkzeuge um Eigenschaften von Termersetzungssystemen wie Terminierung, Konfluenz und Ressourcenverbrauch automatisch zu beweisen. Verifikation ist ein weiteres Forschungsgebiet, in welchem wir interaktive Theorem-Beweiser anwenden um die Korrektheit von großen Computersystemen gründlich zu überprüfen.

Databases and Information Systems

Die Forschungsgruppe Datenbanken und Informationssysteme (DBIS), unter der Leitung von Univ.-Prof. Dr. Günther Specht, hat ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte in den Bereichen neue NoSQL-Datenbankmodelle, insbesondere Graphdatenbanken, Information Retrieval und Vorschlagssysteme sowie Genom-Datenbanken. In letzteren werden z.B. neue Algorithmen (Ähnlichkeitssuche in Gensequenzen) und Verarbeitungsmethoden von großen genetischen Datenmengen entwickelt.

dpsLogoTop Distributed and Parallel Systems

Im Rahmen der Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit der Gruppe Distributed and Parallel Systems (DPS) werden Programmentwicklungssysteme, Compiler, Laufzeitsysteme sowie Software-Werkzeuge (z.B. Performance-Tools, Debugger) für moderne Parallelrechnersysteme, Hochleistungsrechner und Cloud Infrastrukturen erforscht und entwickelt. Dabei können Programme für mehrere Ziele wie z.B. Laufzeit, Energie, Ressourcenbedarf sowie Kosten optimiert werden. Unser Ziel ist es Benutzer, Anwendungsentwickler und Wissenschaftler beim Lösen von komplexen rechen- und datenintensiven Problemen in Industrie, Wirtschaft und Forschung zu unterstützen.

Intelligent and Interactive Systems

Die Arbeitsgruppe IIS beschäftigt sich mit Systemen, die mit ihrer physischen Umgebung in komplexer Weise interagieren. Einen wichtigen Motivator bilden autonome Roboter mit Anwendungen in Haushalt, Dienstleistungen, Wissenschaft und humanitären Einsätzen, die in unstrukturierten Umgebungen agieren, teils in Zusammenarbeit mit Menschen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der visuellen Wahrnehmung sowie der Inferenz adäquater Handlungsparameter. Diese interdisziplinäre Forschung umfasst u.a. Elemente der Bildverarbeitung, des maschinellen Lernens, der Robotik, sowie der Neurobiologie und Psychologie.

Interactive Graphics and Simulation

Die Gruppe Interaktive Grafik und Simulation beschäftigt sich mit Forschung in Medizinischer Simulation und Visualisierung, Virtueller und Erweiterter Realität, sowie Haptischer Interaktion. Beispiele neuester Forschung ist die datengetriebene Erfassung und Darstellung visueller und taktiler Objekteigenschaften, die Ausdehnung des Paradigmas der    Erweiterten Realität auf den haptischen Bereich, sowie neue Methoden in der Chirurgiesimulation, u.a. Aspekte der Physikbasierten Modellierung, der Berechnungsstabilität, und von Schneideverfahren.

qe_logo_2010_72dpi_rgb Quality Engineering

Quality Engineering entwickelt innovative Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Verbesserung von Qualität und Kosteneffizienz bei Management, Entwurf und Betrieb von Software-Systemen. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden dabei modellbasierte Techniken und die Themen Anforderungsmanagement, modellbasierte Qualitätssicherung, Security Engineering, Geschäftsprozesse und Workflows. Das anwendungsorientierte Forschungszentrum Quality Engineering Laura Bassi LaB – QE LaB – entwickelt zusammen mit Industriepartnern Methoden und Technologien für IT-Systeme im Spannungsfeld von Kooperation, Qualität und Evolution.

 sec_uibk_logo Security and Privacy Lab

Moderne Informationssysteme vermitteln Handlungen von Menschen mit vielen unterschiedlichen Interessen. Die Forschungsgruppe Security and Privacy (Sec) entwickelt und evaluiert technische Komponenten, die potenzielle Konflikte in zukünftigen Informationsinfrastrukturen transparent und fair lösen oder gänzlich vermeiden. Konkret werden unter anderem mehrseitig sichere Zahlungssysteme, die Entdeckung von Manipulationen an Mediendaten, Versicherungsmodelle für Cyber-Risiken oder die Messung von Datenschutzeigenschaften beim Cloud-Computing erforscht. Grundtenor der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit ist eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise zur Lösung akuter Probleme der IT-Sicherheit und des Datenschutzes.

Universität Innsbruck